jump to navigation

Yezdi Roadking: The King is dead. Long live the King! Thursday, 9 April, 2009

Posted by ~uh~™ in My Past Life, Rewind.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

This is one my favorite old post cross posted from here.

Prologue

Someone said, ” When you start liking a product, they stop manufacturing it”. True ! Happened with my Nokia 3100, my Kawasaki Caliber Croma & my Yezdi. Like my reviews on few other possessions & confessions, Yezdi is also a part of my upbringing & repugnantly responsible for whatever I am today (alive & married).

The bike once campaigned “ForEver Bike ForEverValue” & ruled the roads & beyond.

Raw Majesticity

Thy name is Yezdi

Ever  heard about Jawa motorcycle? Am sure people who stay in Bangalore can’t miss the puny bike with two silencers zooming rut-fut-tut on Cunningham or Dispensary road ! That’s big daddy of Yezdi. The Czech company called Ideal Jawa started manufacturing motorcycles in 1960’s from their factory at Mysore. While Jawa was 250cc & more roundish in look with a “dewdrop tank”, the 250 cc Yezdi had more lines than curves.  Between 1960-85 Yezdi motor cycles were a craze in India & they were almost the official feature bike of Bollywood. The popular models were Classic, CL-II, Deluxe & a Sports model. I was pleasantly surprised to see their website – www.yezdi.com still accessible with pictures, history & selling statistics!

The last Yezdi manufactured was in 1998, the model being RoadKing, which I owned for 5 years (97-02) while I struggled to live in Delhi.

Enfield vs Yezdi

Undoubtedly one can’t avoid the grand daddy of Indian bikes- Royal Enfield. While both Yezdi’s & Bullets have their own co-existing fan followings, clubs & Desi “Hell’s Angels“, there’s a philosophical difference between both chieftains. If 500/350 cc with 25/35 bhp Bullet is law, 250 cc/ 16 bhp Yezdi is rebel. Both are majestic in their own way, but Yezdi emitted a raw, untamed, rage & passion akin to a Rhino or Byson. Yezdi is one hell of a bike.

Definitely beast

YRK is an all-metal bike. Other than the indicators, there’s no plastic or fibreglass anywhere in the chassis. If today’s tin, plastic, fiberglass & coat hanger assembled bikes can be termed as “definitely male” then YRK is “definitely beast” !

Like OM[ Old Monk Rum], Yezdi too has a cult following in India. There are numerous groups passionate about their prized possession &  long hauls.  Few technical reasons why Yezdi is different from other bikes-

1. The gear on the left leg is reversed to use as saddle to kick-start. The tactics needs to be learnt carefully & practiced to perfection. One wrong kick, & the reverse pressure are powerful enough to send a massive jolt to the left knee, making it numb & rider agonized.

2. Yezdi is the only bike to have single engine but twin expansions (mufflers) giving it a rocket like look & a monstrous pick-up & speed. Yamaha RD 350 had two silencers with twin engines. An yezdi without any customization can growl a cool 100kmph without disturbing the comfort of the rider.

3. It used a rather primitive “point system” for starting the bike. That means even if the battery is down or absent, you still can start the beast. YRK had the ID electronics fitted though.

4. It has 4 gears & a neutral in between each gear. It takes time to learn the art of “finding” the neutrals. Once it is mastered, the beast is tamed.

5. All important parts of the bike are exposed and boasted it’s simplicity. The two screws of the carburetor could be adjusted to ramp up the throttle & fuel consumption depending on the terrain & traffic conditions. Carrying a basic tool kit is mandatory.

6. The 250cc engine capacity is just right for middleweights. Bullet is too heavy & 175cc 3 geared Rajdoot was too uncool for urban riders.

There are other technical aspects, which may bore non-technical readers. So I will answer the FAQs, if any, on comment section.

Skinny rebel

How I owned one

I needed a vehicle to travel from Maharanibaug Hostel to college at ITO. As Delhi is infamous for public transportation or lack of it; the general trend was to travel in bikes. I was just back from Bangalore, experience of riding a modified Jawa fresh in mind. Unable to resist the irrational urge I asked my dad for 20K “loan on phone”. I had a choice between Yamaha RX100, KB 100, HH Splendor. Being a Bong mother, my mom believed bikes enticed youngsters to a cowardly accidental death. I convinced her that I will buy a heavier bike, which will keep me undead. Once the first hurdle was won, rest was smoother. I got this 95 Roadking for 16.5k from an owner who has fractured his left leg from a car accident. One can’t ride YRK without a “proper” left leg, so he sold it to me.

Five Years in D-belt: Full Throttle

The evening I got my YRK to the hostel, I felt like a hero. I spend hours with it (sometimes it’s a she, as my fiancée was never comfortable with her & vice versa) unleashing it’s power & beauty. At 11 pm I decided to surprise my fiancée. She was staying as a paying guest with some moronic conservative bong family. I will never forget the uncle’s face on my proposal to take her “for a ride” at 12. But fortune favors the brave lovers (and the Yezdi owners).

Riding a motorcycle is next best thing to sex. Robert Pirsig & Bill Aitken has written so much, I can’t really explain the metaphysics or epistemology any further.

I ruled Delhi roads (without a license, without valid papers & with a girl pillion) like a rebel.

In winters it did give starting problem, my friend Indranil pushed the bike till it fired. I must thank Indranil for his generosity to share the petrol costs. YRK was a guzzler & we spent round 4 times more than what the lighter Indo-Jap chics consumed.

I never had any major accidents (I mean I was unaffected on whatever accidents I met with). Once I hit a metal roadblock, which was shattered by the impact. Then, I hit a pizza deliveryman whose pizza box got detached from the scooter. The bottomline is YRK was invincible, so was I.

Once one traffic cop caught me jumping read light. I pleaded guilty & said I can’t afford a fine after filling petrol in it. He couldn’t believe someone can be that insane & let me go.

The pleasure of throttling a Yezdi with fiancée as a pillion on a chilly winter night on Delhi roads cannot be compared with anything earthly. Those who have done it will understand.

The difficulty was faced on Sundays.  Like any relationship, my YRK demanded regular maintenance & overhauling and invariably I used to spend most of my Sundays at Amar Singh’s workshop at Madangiri.

Kids on Yezdi, 12 years ago

Zen & the Art…

During my obsession with my bike I realized, that machine has a life & feelings. When one gets too close with the machine, it reciprocates. It’s something grossly unscientific & totally unexplainable, but each morning when I started the bike, the “sound” of throttle gave me an indication about its mood that day. Whenever I forced it against it’s “will”, I had problem. Our bond was so strong that I never imagined we would part with each other. Rather, I dreamt of riding the ranges & travel far off obscured by clouds places.

Epilogue

I got married & became a dad. I shifted to Faridabad. I was still traveling on YRK everyday to Delhi, but couldn’t afford the northbound petrol cost anymore. I was too passionate to leave it, so I bought another fuel efficient & modern Kawasaki. My YRK proudly stood on the porch, waiting for me to gather that mettle for the long awaited voyage amidst the mountains….

But life is not a best-seller & I am no hero.

I sold my YRK to a Dudhwala for 5 grands.

~fi-ni-to~

Comments»

1. Car, Motor, Tuning, Tuned, Bike, Free Wallpapers » Blog Archive » Yezdi Roadking: The King is dead. Long live the King! - Thursday, 9 April, 2009

[...] Miguel Méndez wrote an interesting post today on [...]

Neville - Thursday, 17 June, 2010

hey nice bike and i have also two bikes one simple yezdi and second classic model yezdi and i belong to banaras

2. narasimha - Sunday, 26 April, 2009

King is still alive but needs a chace to take over other once beaten requires a strong force to upthrow other bikers thus we still say road king id a REAL ROAD KING requires people to together to prevent its extinstion we must put efforts to bring this back like the harley davidson stayed Remember till now if any one say Road King its only the THE YEZDI ROAD KING

~uh~: True.

3. harish - Thursday, 30 April, 2009

hi frds, “KING NEVER DIES TILL HE HAVE HIS TRUE FOLLOWER”.. HIS NAME AND HIS REPUTATION HE OWNED WILL EXIST FOREVER… Am harish G.K. from chennai.. Like u all i am also a lover of YEZDI ROADKING, even my father.. My father dreamed alot about this bike in his teenage and even had thought “WILL I GET THIS BEAST IN MY LIFE”.. TRUE LOVE NEVER FAILS.. My father’s dream have come true very soon in his life.. He bought a YEZDI ROADKING 1983 MODEL… He loved it like anything.. I wonder on seeing him that after 27yrs his love has not reduced even a bit and still he loves… And from my childhood i was brought up wid dis bike.. so i grown along wid our YEZDI RK.. After this 27yrs.. d bike’s pride still remains. and coz of the love i ve on YRK.. Now am rebuilding it in a original SHOWROOM CONDITION.. By luck i got into contact with my father’s mechanic. I ve to say abt him. His name is Mr. PONNU RANGAM. he own his carrage in ROYAPETTAH-CHENNAI(TN)… He is the person who looks after ly YEZDI ROADKING… He is best in RK… all most d process got over.. I LL GET MY EMPEROR BACK….

~uh~: Wow ! This is called true passion, joining generations. Kudos to your Dad for keeping the King alive.

sathish - Thursday, 25 February, 2010

hi harish….am sathish n i reside in chennai… like u n other yezdi lovers i too love yezdi but the sad thing is i dont have one n i wish to….. as u own one pls help me wit buyin one…… mail me at sathish743@gmail.com…. reply soon…. thank u……..

Abhilash - Saturday, 18 June, 2011

Hi Harish !
Finally i have a found someone worth while regarding RK in Chennai(online), i am planning to buy one can u please get back to me on this ? My number is : 9789913643

4. harish - Tuesday, 5 May, 2009

THANK U VERY MUCH ~uh~… can i know ur name.. and give ur mail id. so that we can be in contact..

~uh~: My contacts are given in “FAQ & Interaction” page.

5. Dax - Thursday, 14 May, 2009

Nice Piece of writing. I live in Noida with two Roadkings and a Jawa myself and love the sound of a two-stroke on winter nights on delhi roads.
By the way, I broke my left leg (it’s half an inch shorter with a metal rod implant) and i live with my mom (thankfully not bong, but definitely south indian : ) and still ride. Just that some of us die hard.

All the best.

~uh~: Dude, your comment enriched the post. ‘The Yezdi Diaries’- Awesome blog. Especially the visuals are outstanding. Your passion is true and made me feel proud that once I owned an yezdi.
The atlas drugged comic was brilliant. Looks like the pages were taken from my book of life :-s

6. vinodh - Friday, 10 July, 2009

i had heard lot about yezdi road king, but i did’nt rode that bike, i know it is an riders bike in india i love to ride that bike when should i get that chance am waiting for that if i get am satisfied with that 2 silencer king. whenever i hear that bike sound i feel happy and i feel to have tat bike… i really love to ride the road king ” the Beast”.
…………………..
~uh~: Wish you get your dream yezdi soon

7. zain - Tuesday, 28 July, 2009

THIS IS ONE HELLUVA BIKE!!!!IF ANYONE WANTS TO FEEL LIKE A KING AND MAKE OTHERS FEEL GREAT ABOUT YOU JUST PASS BY THEM GIVING A COLD SHOULDER……ITS GONNA BE ENOUGH FOR A LIFETIME!!!!!!!
…………..
~uh~: You summed it up !

8. Praveen Daniel - Thursday, 30 July, 2009

Hay Buddy, super review with a sad ending. I think you should read my review on this King.

http://www.mouthshut.com/review/Yezdi_Roadking-167750-1.html

I love yezdi/Jawa. I have stated my collection of these bikes in Bangalore. Planning to buy a Yezdi Classic to add on to my collection of bikes.
I truly think you should go for a Yezdi again, keep it, it will make you a proud biker.

Regards,
Daniel
…………………………..
~uh~: Hi Daniel, will surely read your review on MS. Guess I lead a different life to be a ‘biker’ again…….thanks for the wish :)

9. desparado - Tuesday, 4 August, 2009

hello … i jus happend to see thru ur page and was totally ompresed .. i own a roadking .. i gt it for 6k from a senior.. its not running properly .. i dont wanna give it to some mech as i i m tired tryin it .. if i get the workshop manual in any possible way it’ll be really helpful for me to start working on it .. thankin u .. and do reply by mail . thimal20052gmail.com… awaitin ur mail …
……………..
~uh™~: Thanks for visiting. You will be lucky to get a yezdi manual, but some guys have it. Try searching for Yezdi Roadking fan clubs online and forums/ communities in facebook, orkut, you will get help.

10. Ravi Chander - Monday, 17 August, 2009

I had this same bike in black from 94-99 when I lived in B’lore and I really loved it. Sadly my wife sold it when I moved to US for higher studies. I liked your post.
……………….
~uh~™: I can sense you feeling. Marriage and Yezdi doesn’t go well i guess :)

11. zombieanoop - Thursday, 20 August, 2009

Damn .. I used to love those old dome headlights! very cool dude.. very cool!
…….
~uh~™: yeah, it had an attitude.

12. Praveen - Friday, 21 August, 2009

Can this majestic bike get a better tribute…awesome!
My dad used to own one of these beasts ..but sadly I was not big enough to ride it then…Wish I were born a little earlier :D
……………..
~uh~™: the fact is. like all good things in life, i never knew what i owned till i lost it.

13. vinni - Friday, 21 August, 2009

wow! Its always good to find another 2 stroke bike fan! Do check my beauty on my blog as well. I got a shogun recently.
and congrats, looks well maintained as well!
………………….
~uh~™: Vinni, I checked your blog. Neat job there.
I was a fan of Shogun and Rx 100 too.
Thanks for leaving a comment.

14. rahul - Friday, 21 August, 2009

nice nostalgic post!1
……………….
~uh~™: yeah, nostalgia is always a past of a person :)

15. witsnnuts - Friday, 21 August, 2009

I can relate very well to this .. I yearn for a thunderbird !! though i have an apache .. ( I don’t have gfs . .she replaces the vacuum :) )

But then i want this thunderbird !! finance problem . you see !!

Fiancee part was touching indeed .

I bet your Esteem can never replace the Yezdi .!!

Cheers. :D
P.S – I’m so very bonded to my bike. . that each time i meet with an accident, i forget about the blood oozing out & go about checking the damages. !!
……………
~uh~™: You are a true blue bike lover. Wish you get your Thunderbird soon. Nothing can replace the Yezdi :)
Thanks for the heartfelt comment, it meant quite a lot to me.

16. Ravi Lobo - Saturday, 22 August, 2009

I don’t know much about bikes. But the article is very good. I liked your style. I will keep reading rest of your articles in the coming times. Keep writing.
……………….
~uh~™: Even I don’t know much about bikes. Thanks a ton for your honest comment, it was very motivating for me. Do add my blog’s feed on your reader.

17. Slash - Saturday, 22 August, 2009

Nice. I like bikes. And blogs about bikes. I’m promoting you on IndiVine for this.

Cheers & best luck.
…………..
~uh~™: Thans a ton Slash for your nice words and vote. Do check “Yezdi Diaries‘ by Dax commented above.
Are you a Guns n Roses fan ?

Slash - Tuesday, 29 September, 2009

yeah. used to be a BIG fan in my early years. and the pseudonym stuck. am fond of it.
…………………………
~uh~™: Even I was and still am :)

18. August Extrosepction « AEIOU ¿ ® - Sunday, 23 August, 2009

[...] on the indiVine section of Indiblogger I stand at nth in popularity for my Yezdi post. The (n-1)th blogger is 5 votes ahead of me and the (n+1)th  one is 8 votes below me. The [...]

19. Swapnil (Daksu) - Friday, 28 August, 2009

The yezdi lives forever…I have been planning to buy a yezdi for almost 2 years now, even though i hadnt ever ridden a yezdi till a few months back…To be honest it was a lil ride about a km long…but ages before i got the chance i wanted to get one for myself…it was just the irresistable charm/beastliness/bare-it-all-grind-your-teeth-stamp-your-feet-nasty-attitude that the yezdi exudes that still has me clinging to my dream of sitting on it for hours…It was wonderful reading the blog, some of the phrases are stuck in my head…things like these are what one wants to tell their grandkids – therir grandfather took their grandmother out at 12 for a ride” ! now thats the real deal my friend…cheers!
………………………….
~uh~™: Dude, your comment reminded me of my story of falling in love with Yezdi.
Once I went to Bangalore to visit my sister and stayed for a week. One of my old friend was working there and staying with a friend’s family. They owned a Roadking. The bike’s tank was replaced with a Jawa dewdrop tank, else all parts were original. The first ride on it, the first sound of engine and I fell in love for Yezdi. The next thing i did coming to Delhi was to buy a copy of Free-Ads and check the second hand Yezdi prices.
That 12 o clock ride is indeed one of the few craziest thing I did in life and never repented !
I wish you get your possession soon and keep it running till your grandchildren sees it :)
Thanks for the great comment.
Cheers !

20. sylvester - Wednesday, 9 September, 2009

hey this is sylvester from bangalore ,from the day God created heavens and the earth-till this day ….there is only jawa engine under Gods created earth which men i mean men can pump and kick ,plus shift gears on the same kicker rod,and thats a man’s bike called king of kings “the YEZDI ROAD KING”and am the founder of indias first urban and hiphop fashion indusdtry ”urbangear”and a old school lover which means i am a B BOY ” peace with you ma man! Road King lives as long as you are a man” i have a 90’s YRK and i like it so does my Wife and daughter.sylvi@in.com keep in touch.
…………………………………
~uh~™: Hi Sylvester, do you have a website for urbangear ? So good to hear that you kept your prized possession, cheers!

21. Sreejith Narendran - Sunday, 13 September, 2009

roadking is sheer magic. i bought one just this august after 15 long years of parting with my king and restored it to its original condition (well..almost). the issue is it does not spare any of those old experiences and you’ve got to be in the garage every other day for something or the other. well..kings are this way..they need u at their service. see my kings pics on facebook
…………………………………………
~uh~™: Congratulations on your new possession. You are right about the daily maintenance- the King demands much attention and care…
Please share the facebook link.

22. sylvester - Sunday, 13 September, 2009

i bought a YRK today night 94 model ,so i have two bikes ,i’m gonna show off..well my web is under construction mate,stay Blessed catch u soon… cheers,
…………………………………
~uh~™: Congrats on the second bike. Do share the link when you are done.

SUBROTO - Saturday, 28 August, 2010

hi could u let me knopw were u service ur yezdi road kings.. in bangalore

23. sriku - Thursday, 24 September, 2009

dud i just loved your passion for the Great Beast YEZDI ROAD KINGG>>> My dad Oned a Yezdi 1980 model. But ever after his demise. People at my home had to sell it since we were young around 15yrs and too young to maintain that beast.. But Now that I’m Young 25 and since i’m independent i’m planning to OWN one ROAD KING very soon.. thanx for sharing your time.. Sriku Hyderabad. LONG LIVE YEZDI.. WE SHOULD NEVER LET IT EXTINCT….. sriku_chary@yahoo.com YEZDI LOVERS CAN STAY IN TOUCH for any updates or to Share their experiences. Thanx..
………………………….
~uh~™: Wow ! cool man…

24. Rameez Latheef - Saturday, 26 September, 2009

Jawa is 250 cc Bike man
………………………….
~uh~™: Thanks, corrected the typo !

25. Cornelius - Thursday, 12 November, 2009

Loved your piece, buddy. Hate it that you actually sold the bike. You could have kept it for a once-a-week ride, at least. Anyways, such is life — you win some, lose some. I am restoring my D250 CL after 7 years. Wish me luck!
………………………….
~uh~™: Well said buddy !. Best of luck !

26. Sushmit - Sunday, 17 January, 2010

very interesting read for someone who gorges on anything that’s old-style enfield…the yezdi certainly is king :)

prem - Monday, 25 January, 2010

hai,, i am very glad 2 see the chubby muscular bike .. i have to known the manufacturing period of yezdi road king .i believe it from 1988-1995 . am i right ? i am looking 4 a yesdi somebody say one 83 model road king ….is it roadking or classic,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, if any body know it pls respond . premjomat@gmail.com

Praveen Daniel - Tuesday, 2 February, 2010

hai prem,
Roadking was in production from 1978 to 1996 (till the company closed). 1978 to 1980 mid, they where sold in US$ in India, it came with standard 18ltr tank. Later 1981 to 1993 it had points ignition but smaller tank 16lts. 1993 to 1996 all had CDI ignition. All had 16bhp engine. 1995-96 the monarch was produced, with Roadking engine but 350cc twin body(which stopped production long back)
The B Type, Classic, CL2 and Deluxe all had a 250cc engine with 13bhp.
There was also a 175CC yezdi, with single silencer.

Hope u got ur answer.

– Daniel (dannypraveen@gmail.com)

27. wily coyote - Tuesday, 23 February, 2010

Veddy nice indeed. I was looking for a scientific ride review but this is pretty cool. I live in Delhi myself with my RK :), my D250 :)), my CL2 :))), my Y-350 :)))) and my mechanic is my roommate :(
Its difficult to predict the future, but I would hate to live in a time when I’d want to sell my steeds purely out of compulsion to keep the wifey. Right now though, its an easy choice. Girl can look out for herself. Im on a, love me love my dog, trip.

wily

28. somsn - Thursday, 22 April, 2010

(uh: edited) king never dead,king is king

29. ajay - Friday, 23 July, 2010

Awesome!!!! You really wrote well and Ur love is apparent … Yes, like someone also mentioned you shudnt have sold it … but it was ur call .. cant comment much on it … I always felt great and now I m feeling prouder that I loved the Yezdis even before I knew how to ride a bike and the difference in a 2 stroke and a 4 stroke bike etc … I have a Rk1996 a !984 Classic and a 1978 Model B … Hope thi beast doesnt the final doors ever … I will hold on to it till I can …

cheers!

30. SUBROTO - Saturday, 28 August, 2010

HI ,
I HAVE A 1986 YEZDI ROAD KING MODEL,COULD ANY ONE HELP ME IN FINDING A GOOD MECHANIC AROUND BANGALORE,U CAN CONTACT ME AT 9880081793.

Praveen Daniel - Saturday, 28 August, 2010

Hi subroto,
mail me – dannypraveen@gmail.com.
U can get ur bike done in my friends shop.

Regards,
Praveen

31. Umar Sharif - Thursday, 7 October, 2010

Hmm.. nice bike.. but if i had money i woudlnt buy it!

32. Raj - Monday, 8 November, 2010

hi blokes,
i had this ‘macho beast’ (for two odd years) which I refer to YRK…I love this bike as this gave me complete satisfaction of riding like a horse and the road grip was fantastic apart from morning sickness, what is a starting problem some times..a truly male and one of my best companions of all the bikes i ever had…unfortunately I had to sell this for 3K when I had enough of him…I still cherish this bikes memories when I had this in my mid 20’s…hats off to a true companion (sad to hear the company is shut down).

33. vinod - Saturday, 4 December, 2010

Hey guys the KING never died. He still rules the roads of bangalore, he has conquered the streets in bangalore. The king would always be the king there is no death to him. I own a roadking 1994 model maroon in color. I just love the beats of the king, which grabs attention of even a kid walking on the road. Good to see a lot of king fans. Cheers :-)

34. vinod - Saturday, 4 December, 2010

I’m sorry the model of my bike is 1984.

35. Mali Bharath - Wednesday, 22 December, 2010

a great story.. wit a sad endin … i lik th way u boast about ur beast …and its true coz i own a yrk.. u shud’nt have sold it for 5 k… instead keep it for urself … ridin it once in a month or week wud bring u joy …

36. Out Of Order - Wednesday, 29 December, 2010

Great post, mate. Brilliant!

I agree with everything you have said. You brought back some memories. Dad bought a Yezdi in 1979 and still has it back home. I used to ride it to school. What a rebel! Massive hit with the females, ofcourse. The double silencer chrome look was legendary! The maintenance is this ritual it just has to be followed every single Sunday. I occasionally found myself squatting on the floor cleaning the bloody spokes and the rim *shiny*! Spending afternoons at the ‘mistry’ workshop consuming copious amounts of tea.. From that pic of yours in a chappal, reminded me of burning my feet cos I accidentally this one time touched the very hot silencer. OUCH!

After a few years I graduated to a Bullet 350 in my later years in college. Now, was it because I wanted something of my own or that dad wanted his Yezdi back, is something that is still controversial at home :p

So I know exactly what you mean about the difference in the 2. Fact is, you can not compare them.
Personally I enjoyed riding them both and was lucky to have these legendary motorbikes in one garage at home. Spoilt for choice – Thanks dad
………………………………..
~uh~™ : Thanks for the great comment dude ! You are lucky to have a dad like that and two majestic machines under one roof :)
Yezdi had a special place bike lovers heart which connected generations. This comment section proves that !

37. 2010 Round up AEIOU ¿ ® « AEIOU ¿ ® - Monday, 3 January, 2011

[...] Yezdi Roadking: The King is dead. Long live the King! April 2009 42 comments 4 [...]

38. Deena Devaiah - Monday, 7 February, 2011

YRK is very good.Unbeatable in all the class (indian bikes). I have 1996 model Road king in very good condition.even i altered the carburetor of Maruti Zen in 2005. now also giving 40km/ltr,and Top Speed of 135kms/hr.Total coverage of 2,80,000kms done.Amazing.

39. sandeep coorg - Friday, 18 February, 2011

very good.Unbeatable in all the class (indian bikes). I have 1986 model Road king in very good condition.even . now also giving 32km/ltr,and Top Speed of 120kms .Amazing.

40. PARINAV - Friday, 1 April, 2011

my dad owns a 250 D classic…m a crazy fan of this baby…but its all rusted since it had been lying in d garage for 8 yrs…my dad wants me to clear my exams…n he’s promised me to get it fixed then

41. NS Yugandhar - Thursday, 7 April, 2011

Hai.. dis is Yugandhar 4m B’lore.. can u giv tips on rideng YRK like how/wen 2 use clutch, aceltor, idling.. my mob 09986564586.. emal nsyugandhar@yahoo.com..

42. deep - Saturday, 9 April, 2011

http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=125560394148193

Facebook,,,,,follow us on,,,,,,

http://www.3bikers.in…..

we are tryng to save these beauty’s in chandigarh

43. s.n.patil - Sunday, 10 April, 2011

IAM ALSO LOOKING FOR YEZDI MOTERCYCLE. IT IS GREAT MOTERCYCLE,I HAVE NOT SEEN SUCH MOTERCYCLE BEING PRODUCED.I HAVE NOT ALSO SEEN GIRLS RIDING YEZDI MOTERCYCLE.ANY GIRL RIDING YEZDI MOTERCYCLE.

44. deep - Sunday, 10 April, 2011

no…me to not seen,,maysor and banglor,,,one or 2 grls only

45. Gaurav M - Thursday, 28 April, 2011

to the author:

lovely article! resonates my feelings entirely. i used a Yezdi with a Java tank, cognac coloured all through college 95-98. its still with me :-)

i took it for 700km rides in 30 hours,while my friends were too scared to take to kamla nagar (1km away!). you just need to establish a rappot with the bike :-)

…………………
~uh~™: Hey thanks, Gaurav, you are right about the bonding :)

46. milind - Monday, 23 May, 2011

from my childhood i have been seen yezdi and jawa besides rajdoot. it is heard that yezdi and jawa are sisters or brothers and spare parts also match with each other. is it true?
also heard that yezdi can be run on Kerosene without harm to engine.
pls comment

paramveer - Saturday, 10 September, 2011

yes it is true yezdi can run on kerosene without harm to engine………i have yezdi classic 250cc and he is the real beast ………. i love the beast…….

47. Vinu - Wednesday, 8 June, 2011

Man nothing can beat the beast that is the Road King there is no bike that I know which can beat the beast. I own a road king 1984 model, I always loved the bike since my childhood and wanted to own a roadking and my dream came true two years ago. The Road King is ruling eastern part of bangalore all the bike that were rested in the garage are out on the roads roaring frequently. The King is back on the bangalore roads my friends and we are making the fame and the fire burn till we can. Proud to own a Road king…..

48. Shashank Prasad - Wednesday, 21 September, 2011

hey guys i am also a yezdi mad lover i reside in Bangalore like u n other yezdi lovers i too love yezdi but the sad thing is i dont have one n i wish to….. as u own one pls help me wit buyin one…… mail me at shanka.787462@gmail.com or my mobile num is
9886886211
…. reply soon…. thank u in advance
……..

49. Karthick - Wednesday, 16 November, 2011

The end is rather sad. I own a loved Yezdi, but the time demands of being a husband (2 years) and dad (1 year) are showing on my loved bike.

Hope I don’t go the doodhwala way. Wish me luck.

cheers,
Karthick

50. invest liberty reserve - Wednesday, 23 November, 2011

An engrossing treatment is designer observe. I imagine that you should write solon on this matter, it mightiness not be a sacred subject but mostly grouping are not enough to mouth on much topics. To the succeeding. Cheers like your Yezdi Roadking: The King is dead. Long live the King! AEIOU ¿ ®.

51. prj - Thursday, 29 December, 2011

i hav a yezdiroadking for sales i made it new almost spending 40 k on it.right from bolts and nuts till the the engine everthing is good my contact nmbr:08121234630 u can see the pics on facebook my address:prajun_kumar@yahoo.com

52. umang - Thursday, 12 January, 2012

yezdi bullet and rajdoot are real bike i have yezdi d classic 250cc 1984,royal enfield bullet 1986 rajdoot 1981and bajaj priya scooter 1985 but due to high fuel prize i ride them only as a enjoyment not for use, i use hero honda cd deluxe 2008 model and my old herculis 9000 bicycle since class 7 now i am in a job and 29 year old but my bicycle is still running.

53. snk - Thursday, 26 January, 2012

The bestest piece of writing from a true RK lover…. Kudos!!!

54. prins - Saturday, 18 February, 2012

hi..finally got my yezdi b tyoe after all the restoration prcoess done my fuel stank is leaking..need suggestions…also after 10 kms of riding my bike stalls what can be the reason i not ripping either..the bore and piston is new..need help

55. satish - Sunday, 19 February, 2012

hey im looking for a yezdi club in delhi? know any?

56. Krishna Iyer M Trivandrum - Friday, 9 March, 2012

THE KING NEVER DIES. I HAD ONE BUT WAS FORCED TO SELL IT THREE YEARS BACK. BUT STILL I BELIEVE IT IS THE BEST BIKE I HAD

57. Rahul pandey - Tuesday, 17 April, 2012

hi guys I want a yezdi roadking which is in a good condition for a cheap rate if any 1 has plz plz contact 9742395661 name is Rahul

58. Benhur Kishore - Tuesday, 17 April, 2012

Learnt how to drive on a Yezdi in 1975. Always owned one and now I have a Roadking 1994 model. Can never have enough of it.

59. Dx.weslee - Tuesday, 11 September, 2012

Send yezdi details 4 me

60. Shailesh - Saturday, 6 October, 2012

Hi. My father owns a B model yezdi 1978. I have restored it 3 years back.my dad had stopped using it since last 7 years and the bike had drained only with remains of engine and rusted parts. I took it to a mech called yadav and assured him of the engine capacity. He made the engine free by oiling it and for my surprise it roared after pumping and kicking. I was surprised as to how could a bike start when it was lying in rain for more than 7 years. Thats yezdi.

61. Shailesh - Saturday, 6 October, 2012

which model in yezdi 250 c c category more powerful irrespetive of looks . I mean B model or the Classics

62. gaurav - Monday, 8 October, 2012

does anyone know a good yezdi mechanic in south delhi?

~uh~™ - Saturday, 1 December, 2012

Try Amar Singh’s garage on the left hand side of the road that connects ring road to Khanpur before Madangiri. Don’t know if he’s still there.

63. kunal pashine - Saturday, 24 November, 2012

plz help .i want to buy a yezdi .i want details like bhp of all yezdi models.plz reply fast on my email id.better u post on my fb. kunal pashine

64. Amie - Wednesday, 10 April, 2013

Hey I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by accident,
while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow
I am here now and would just like to say kudos for
a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great work. Amie, http://khulamunch.com/index.php?do=/blog/12903/graj-online/

65. abhinav - Saturday, 22 June, 2013

I hv a yezdi classic.i relized dt only old model bullets can bear comfort dt yezdi.it gives so comfortable riding u can guess it,while it had mileage of 9 km/lt thence i run it
now it has milege 30/lt.
i lv it.i lv old royol enfield also

66. Black Beard Ghost - Thursday, 27 June, 2013

Hi dax re pl your name-confused desi.com
FoF fats YC & amishraji

BE ALL!
always,
– dax.

Also check out http://www.yezdidiaries.blogspot.come and http://www.yezdidiaries2.blogspot.com
who dat

never had a bike-cant ride one- life in fast lane UK
worked at Donnington park 4 times, Polo rosi’s fav-lucky track,

http://www.lukemelia.com/blog/archives/2004/12/17/heavenly-manna/

mail me my ID is there
BLACK BEARD GHOST-liverpool

67. Black Beard Ghost - Thursday, 27 June, 2013

http://www.royal-enfield.net/

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/india/9222745/Royal-Enfield-Bullet-enjoys-Indian-summer.html

http://www.royalenfield.org.uk/index.php?PageName=machine_dating_notes

http://www.royalenfield.org.uk/?PageName=why_rob

once i was at cross roads/traffic lights-sheffield UK, ran to the bike owner spoke to him, he pulled aside gave all details-how he shiped from MADRAZZZZZZZZ
excitement to desi dosas


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers