jump to navigation

The Drawing Book 23 Years Back Monday, 18 May, 2009

Posted by ~uh~™ in Art & Literature, My Past Life.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

This summer while I was in Kolkata, I took out my old Drawing book from school (1983). My mom has kept it safely all these years. I wanted to show my drawings to my son, to motivate and encourage him to spend more time with pencil, crayons and water colours than PS2 and PC games.

Here are some of the pages of my old drawing book, captured on a digital camera. The pages are 23 years old, but the memoriea are as fresh as yesterday 🙂

DSC02098

This was one of my first pencil sketch and our Drawing teacher was no miser appreciating it 😀

I was heavily influenced by Swami Vivekananda’s writings especially his quotes. Two of which are my favourites-

1. Don’t ask why. Ask Why not ?

2. You can’t be honest and keep everyone happy at the same time.

Samaresh BasuThe above unfinished picture is of famous Bengali author and intellectual Samaresh Basu. I sketched his potrait as I was a big fan of his child detective character ‘Gogol”. After growing up, I was a big admirer of his writings, which has been made to many pathbreaking films like ‘Paar’.Samaresh Basu was a controversial writer during his lifetime: highly praised by a section of society, and vilified for ‘obscenity’ by another. He wrote a controversial novel named “Bibar” which was eventually banned for being sexually explicit. He wrote his travelouges under pseudonym ‘Kalkut’ with a complete different narrative style from author Smaresh. One of his most notable work as Kalkut was ” Amrita Kumbher Sondhane”.

Sukumar Ray

The  above potrait is of Sukumar Ray, father of Satyajit Ray. For bongs no indroduction for this genius is necessary or required. I have great infuence of  Sukumar Ray’s works on me and pais my tribute through this sketch.

TarzanI was fascinated by Tarzan and copied this picture from the Omnibus. I don’t remember why I could’nt finish the picture. I hope my son, completes it someday 🙂

I did not touch brush and colours for about 20 years. After a long break, the last painting I did was after shifting to Bombay to express my life here in 2006.

unnamedThe picture is unnamed. Interpreation, is left to the reader’s imagination. All I can say, the moon like circle was inspired from Disprin…….

I loved to draw and paint. Now, I just live a normal life.

Comments»

1. Kartikey - Monday, 18 May, 2009

We think of the past and the memory plays with us in the present.

~uh~: hmmm…profound.

2. eye-in-sty-in - Monday, 18 May, 2009

nice art you did…. I almost flunked in drawing. So you are my hero now when it comes to painting 😀

~uh~: Well, the script of my life was guided by the fact that I could draw. It’s just that the screenplay screwed up 😉

3. Abha - Monday, 18 May, 2009

🙂

excellent stuff dude! and thank god for nice mom who save everything! i found one such notepad of M’s who had drawn almost an entire comic book on it! it was yellow and pencil marks not that dark.

i managed to get it printed like a black n white comic book! have left some pages for him to finish the story! i am thinking he will echo your sentiments!

and disprin, really?! :p

cheers!

~uh~: I guess every kid live in their fantasy world, few pens it down. Why don’t you put up M’s comic book. Even i started one with a friend as scriptwriter. The story was about a budding footballer from Bengal who eventually makes it big 🙂

4. bouncing-bubble - Monday, 18 May, 2009

Let me just say WOW!
and why didn’t u draw/paint for 20 yrs?

~uh~: The answer my friend, is blowing in the wind…….:)

5. couchpapaya - Tuesday, 19 May, 2009

wow, ur quite good i must say! what medium is the last one in ??

(that last bit is me trying to talk like i know my nose from my elbows in art :P)

~uh~: You mean I ‘was’ ?
The last one is Poster colour on mountboard.
Understanding Art becomes tough when it has a F before it 🙂

6. ambuj - Tuesday, 19 May, 2009

hey fe, these are some lovely drawings. I loved the first one. I am also a big admirer of swamiji.

For the last one, i can draw a conclusion as coming from blue to red…

~uh~: Thanks Ambuj, good to see you here 🙂

7. magicalsummer - Tuesday, 19 May, 2009

you can draw like this, and you don’t? why? i mean why would you throw away something that you’re good at, and gives you pleasure, for ‘hum drum’??

~uh~: The post category says it all.

8. Rofl Indian - Friday, 22 May, 2009

Fabulous sketching. That you have an eye for detail is revealed in the drawings you etched years ago. Btw, I was expecting to see Jane on Tarzan’s shoulder 😉 But I understand. When you are just in your early teens, it feels utterly embarassing to draw an ‘anatomically-correct’ feminine figure.

I have read (among other titles) ‘Kothaay pabo taare’ and ‘Madhukori’, both from the same author. Spellbinding narration. Yet so completely different in style and content.

Awesome post.

Cheers!
…………………………….
~uh~: Well, between you an me, I did try to copy the figures of Narda & Karma and my pencil wasn’t ready then to negotiate those dangerous curves 🙂
However, I was quite fond of drawing feminine faces and I was caught once doing that in history class in school 😦

I have professionally earned money for illustrating in an article by Aparna Sen (yes, the mother of Konkona Sen :-). The Magazine was ‘Dakshinibarta’, then published by Priyaranjan Das Munshi. I drew three portraits of Sagarmoy Ghosh ( Editor of ‘Desh’ Magazine). You know what was the compensation? Rs 10 for each sketch 😀
The man who officially came to pay me the amount was expecting an professional artist and was shell shocked to note that he is looking for a 13 year old boy !

Madhukari was published as a dharabahik on Desh and I used to read it then (secretly). Have you read ‘Shekol Chhera Hater Khoje’ by Kalkut ? If you can get it, do read.
Another such case of successful dual writing persona is of Sunil Ganguly and Nil Lohit.
I don’t get to discuss Bong literature often, it felt great to see your comment.

9. Rofl Indian - Sunday, 24 May, 2009

I think I have erred in attributing both ‘Kothai…’ and ‘Madhukori’ to Samaresh. Madhukori is Buddhadev Guha’s work. Yes, it was considered illicit stuff, literary contraband for the underaged to be precise 😉 Yes I too read it hiding the copy of Desh between the pages of the geography atlas.

I have recently acquired close to three dozen Bangla titles by frontline authors (by VPP) for my mother. She is a bookworm 🙂 and its an achievement of sorts getting them here in Jaipur. I do intend to read them one by one. There are quite a few titles by Samaresh, Buddhadeb, Shirshendu and Suchitra Bhattacharjee among others.
Cheers!
…………………
~uh~: Oh! huh ! Shame on me. Thanks for the correction. We are fortunate not many bongs are present in this forum. Else this mistake is criminal from our part and we deserve a bash-up 😦
‘Madhukari’ made my ears go read and heartbeat increased. I am sure you world (map in the gegraphy atlas) would have been shaken too 😉

Most bong moms are bookworms, which is why most bongs are born with the same ‘keeda’ ! Shirshendu is my most favourite writer. Have you read ‘Durbin’ and ‘Jao Pakhi’ ? Jao Pakhi is one of the most outstanding contemporary urban tale I have ever read.
‘Desh’ definitely is definitely the best regional literary magazine and an inseparable part of a bong’s maturity process.

10. g - Sunday, 24 May, 2009

//I loved to draw and paint. Now, I just live a normal life.//

You had either better get back to it, or include sketching/painting in your definition of ‘normal’. It’d be criminal to keep something like this a thing of the past. Not to mention unfair to your kids (and perhaps you). What’s stopping you?
……
~uh~: It’s because of the kids I pulled that old drawing book out 🙂
To answer your question, well, nothing stopped me, it’s just time went by and …….. “I’ve been doing a lot of abstract painting lately, extremely abstract. No brush, no paint, no canvas, I just think about it.”–Stephen Wright

11. nursemyra - Tuesday, 26 May, 2009

I like your sketches
~uh~: Thanks 🙂

12. Sourabh Biswas - Thursday, 9 July, 2009

really good sketches….i dont mean to brag but i was a really good painter too 😉 ….then after 5th…just dropped the brushes….i can equate ur anguish with mine….and that quote above … Hail Stephen Wright!!

13. axw11 - Saturday, 1 August, 2009

Dude…..that painting is just awesome….reminds me of Van gogh ones….

btw, have you read ‘Kari’? It is by Amruta patil…an Indian graphic novel….u might like it….

Here’s her blog….
http://amrutapatil.blogspot.com/
……………….
~uh~: You are goddam right, I am much infuenced by Van Gogh but never thought anyone will ever mention it this way. I don’t even think i deserved that, thanks anyway 🙂
Not read Kari- thanks for link !
Btw- are you a member of Indian webcomics group ? Do enroll and list yours.

14. Ub - Friday, 14 August, 2009

~Uh~: your works and thoughts (flashed here|) are making me write to you and that also exactly not about many things…..only one thing I would like to know – do you think Samaresh Basu and his creations are still relevent in todays world ? What makes you remark that he is (sorry!…was) a great writer? Don’t you think that todays writers are more powerful in all aspect?… They are more creative?….Though I should not say this, but still – don’t you think that his son (mejo chele) Dr. Naba Kumar Basu is more powerful and expert writer? However, I do not know weather you have read any of his novels or stories…..if not, then you should. It is really unfortunate that he will always be reffered and remembered as the son of Samaresh Basu. I think he is more powerful and better writer than his father….he is the actul intelect in his family.
If you find interesting we can have a little chit chat on this in the future.For that I’m sending you my e-mail address – Kaalkoot@yahoo.co.in
Bye!
Ub.

~uh~™ - Monday, 17 August, 2009

Hey Ub,
You have raised multiple questions which need to addressed separately.
do you think Samaresh Basu and his creations are still relevent in todays world ?
Yes I do. Infact, I think what he wrote was ahead of it’s time.
What makes you remark that he is (sorry!…was) a great writer?
Because I love to read he wrote. It’s my personal opinion.
Don’t you think that todays writers are more powerful in all aspect? They are more creative?
You have to pardon me for my limitation here. I am not much into contemporary Bengali literature. The last one I read was Herbert by Nabarun Bhattacharya, that was some 10 years back too !
on’t you think that his son (mejo chele) Dr. Naba Kumar Basu is more powerful and expert writer?
I can’t answer that as I haven’t read any of his work. I’ll appreciate if you could recommend some of his books.

Thanks for putting up a thoughtful comment and making me realize that I am missing something.

I have put up a mail to you, you can reply there or we can have discussion here for others’ benefit, as well.

Cheers!


Leave a Reply

