jump to navigation

Sankat City:Premiere to Premier Padmini Friday, 10 July, 2009

Posted by ~uh~™ in Bollywood, Movies, Mumbai, Soceity & Cultures.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback


I was confused about the real usage of twitter. Then one day I got an alert saying Pankaj Advani has started following me. Pankaj Advani, the Director of Sankat City. I had commented on few of his posts on PFC, where I found him mentioning an Old Monk with withered wings. He had replied to my comments on his posts and promised that he would call me for a screening of his show. However, trying to google him will land up humongous result of his namesake billiard champion.

Now, this Director has an interesting profile.

Pankaj Advani has co-written the 90’s SRK – starrer classic Kabhie Haan Kabhie Na (1993) with Kundan Shah.


Pankaj Advani
Pankaj Advani- the chilled man

He has directed one feature film called Urf Professor which is not yet certified by Indian censor board because of something which I presume, they have never seen in Hindi cinema so far. People who have watched the movie say – it’s one of the best comedy Hindi cinema have ever seen.

He has also written and directed Cape Karma (2007)  which is yet to be released. You can see the awesome posters of this film here .

You can get a sense of his sense of humour from his posts on PFC. Like most Bengali brats, I grew up reading Sukumar Roy, Shibrum Chakraborty and later Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay and Parashuram and never realized when did this ‘nonsense humour’ got me hooked. Pankaj Advani has this twisted, impudent, sarcastic take on everything mundane to special (including  Salman Khan somewhere in between)and you still don’t know whether it’s an insult or a compliment. Some call it Tounge-in-cheek, some call it madcap. Read this post as an example and judge his writing by yourself.

Psychologically, I have always followed film directors, the reverse have never happened. Now twitter is a place where two people can follow each other without colliding or getting drifted away, though it would be a sheer physical impossibility in real life. So I start following him too.

Then on 6th July, I get  another mail alert from him. A direct twitter message saying there’s a Premiere Show on Juhu PVR on 8th and if I was interested to come. Obviously I was. My first and last premiere invitation was for the hilarious play on Bigamy. I wanted to reply to him immediately. But, I could not as I was attending a meeting at a Construction site in mid town Coimbatore. However, I managed to send him a reply confirming my willingness, through mobile.

Next day, few quick mail and sms exchanges involving Vee , a fellow movie enthusiast and Magik (who was flying down from Bangalore to attend the show) .I was there at 8:45, a good one hour before the scheduled time of the cocktail party. The premiere was scheduled at 10:45 pm. How I killed time for one hour is  however, subject of a different post altogether.

After meeting Magik we entered the crowded lobby. I tried to look as matter of fact as possible while trying to spot the silver screen personalities who were expected to come. Then came Pankaj,the man yelling ‘ Ye udtahaathi kaun hai ? I want to see who calls himself udtahaathi !’ A bespectacled simple man with a perpetually happy and smiling face greeted us.

Immediately afterwards, Chunkey Pande arrived and got gheraoed by the photographers. Chunkey Pandey was much taller than I anticipated.


Chunkey Pandey- he played double role in Sankat City
Chunkey Pandey- he played double role in Sankat City

While approaching the bar, I bumped into NandKishore Awasthi, Ishaan’s Dad in Taare Zameen Par. My Immediate thought was, ‘Saale, bachhe ko maltreat karta hai, khadoos, badtameez, ab idhar bhi a gaya’. But, realizing he was actually Vipin Sharma, the person, I gave a smile and said ‘How are you this evening ? Good to see you here tonight !’ He must have thought I am a regular in premiere shows and asked if I was part of the production team. I had to modestly admit, that I have no lena dena with the production and have come on the Director’s invitation.

Before I could get my first drink, I saw Anupam Kher, Kay Kay, Anurag Kashyap entering the lobby.


Kalki and Anurag- Directed to togetherness
Kalki and Anurag- Directed to togetherness

Kalki Koechlin was with Anurag and those who doesn’t know yet, they are together in love.


Anupam- Sab Kheriyat
Anupam- Sab Kher-iyat hai

I tried spotting Rimi Sen, one of my favourite among the Bengali Sens of Humour in Bollywood. I could not spot her, though today newspaper’s page 3 published her picture in a SBD (Small black dress). Instead I found someone else in SBD with Kay Kay. I could see Imtiaz Ali too, but could not go near because of the crowd. Among other directors present were  Yashpal Sharma,  Shriram Raghavan, Anirudhya Mitra, Shivam Nair, Karan Choudhary and Bunty Walia.


Chanda- Kalki avatar
Chanda- Kalki avatar

I was able to shake hands with all of them (including Khersaab), except Kalki who was busy palying hide & seek with the photographers. I downed 3 drinks and shot these blurred pictures with my mobile (Nokia  E 71, 3.2 MP).


The tough guys- Kay Kay with Aditya Srivastav
The tough guys- Kay Kay with Aditya Srivastav


kay kay played Guru the thief
kay kay played Guru the thief

There were other interesting people, whom I recognized as the ‘Lokhandwala crowd’, wannabe actresses in short dresses, reasonable cleavages and old saari clad painted moms. While the moms sip OJ from their goblet, the wannabe birdie tries to mingle with some Director or other influential people for that coveted 2 mins of conversation. Photographers swarm around the celebrities for that special snap of the stars with a ‘friend’ to be published on Page-3 on Friday.


Makarand Deshpand- Cool dude
Makarand Deshpand- Cool dude


Saurabh Shukla- Mama...Kallu mama
Saurabh Shukla- Mama…Kallu mama
Anupam Kher- Clean image
Anupam Kher- Clean image


Anupam Kher played Faujder in Sankat City
Anupam Kher played Faujder in Sankat City

During the interval, I could spot Anurag Kashyap and quickly introduced myself, with the worst introductory statement placed ever ‘I comment on your posts on PFC’. As if it was not enough I further add ‘I use a pseudonym ~uh~ with a trademark sign’. He grinned, nodded and put his arms around my shoulder; I reciprocated which practically made us do what they may call as ‘hug’. A hug with Anurag Kashyap in the interval– could have been the immediate tweet feed if I was a part of Lokhandwala crowd.

Sankat City ended at around 1: 00 AM.

I won’t discuss the movie here, because it deserves a separate dedicated review [posted now]. After the show ended I shook hands with Kay Kay Menon, Manoj Pahwa (remember the voracious samosa eater boss in Naya Office Office?), Yashpal Sharma (the man who played the villain  in Dum), Sanjay Mishra ( the peon in Naya Office office).

Then, I met the humble mastermind, the man of the evening- Pankaj Advani. I was too intoxicated with the movie and he was getting loads of accolades from everyone, so I could only say him thanks and convey that it was a great work, a different Hindi comedy cinema experience ever.

Once out on the drizzling midnight Mumbai street, I got myself into a Premier Padmini cab more popularly known as the Fiat Taxi and headed home.

They don’t make such Premiere’s or Padminis anymore. That’s why I have to put it in the title.

Comments»

1. Lynn - Friday, 10 July, 2009

WoW! good for you, thanks for a great post, interesting read.
………………….
~uh~: Did you get a glimpse of Mumbai movie world ? 🙂

2. le embrouille blogueur - Friday, 10 July, 2009

Great stuff UH …you are rubbing shoulders (probably you do this all the time, just that I didnot know) ..with the stars ….I liked the Padminis ….miss them !!!
……………
~uh~: All Padmini’s more than 16 years old are asked to stay off the road……..byatha 😉

3. Naren - Friday, 10 July, 2009

Way to go!
………….
~uh~: Kal kisne Dekha ?

4. Ekta khetan - Friday, 10 July, 2009

Hey AEIOU…

Aaai yo yo…well thats my abridged version of the vowels hahaa…

first time here…wordpress is banned in office you see…hopped from great bong and liked it too!!!

“Happy to hop” 🙂
……………………….
~uh~ : Welcome to AEIOU. have you heard Mithunda’s Aiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieee Saala ?
Great bong to Evil bong like a ping bong !

5. couchpapaya - Friday, 10 July, 2009

sounds like u had fun!! am amazed at the no of ppl u know by sight … had to refer to ur titles to figure out who most were …
………………………..
~uh~: I was a new experience, you know the kind which makes you feel better 🙂
These guys are superb actors and quite famous in their own right, like you know the authors by the book, i know them by the face !

6. axw11 - Saturday, 11 July, 2009

Where is your photuuuuu??? Good to see you had fun…so did you have Old Monk then????
…………………
~uh~: I was on the other side of the lens ! No OM there but Bacardy 🙂

7. TheThoughtfulTrain - Saturday, 11 July, 2009

Hey I can say I comment on the site where the author parties with the Lokhandwala crowd!! Hows that sound?? * running to call everyone I know! * 😉

BTW, I mistook Makarand Deshpande to be you !! 😉
Good one … Lovely pictures, and I envy you for your E 71!!
………………………..
~uh~: You can say you know the guy who hugs Anurag Kashyap at the interval. But that may challenge the ‘orientation’ issue.
Makarand copied the look from me while doing Swadesh. I have that look since last 900 years 🙂

8. Aditya - Saturday, 11 July, 2009

haathi…

i want to use all the top-degree expletives here to tell u …u r getting better day by day !

Cheers
Aditya
……………………..
~uh~: Hey buddy, thank for dropping in and for the sms too ! Miss you in the fun…..

9. PodaPunaku - Saturday, 11 July, 2009

All right!! gooooooo MOD!
……………………..
~uh~: *uhahahaha !

10. Rofl Indian - Saturday, 11 July, 2009

Life’s little treasures 🙂
…………….
~uh~:….to tell the grandchildren 🙂

11. Rofl Indian - Saturday, 11 July, 2009

Btw…whats liposuction, hair transplant, scarless breast augmentation, butt lift and tummy tuck doing in a premiere? (See behind Kallu Mama)
…………..
~uh~: Well, I saw samples of both ‘before’ and ‘after’ the treatment, so the advert was just at the right place to grab potential customers :p

12. surfryder - Saturday, 11 July, 2009

u seemed to have derived much visual pleasure from the ‘lokhandwala’ crowd. hmm 🙂
…………………
~uh~: What else you do with eye-candies ? 😉

13. witsnnuts - Sunday, 12 July, 2009

Gr8 man. Gr8 😀
I heard that the film is good. Waiting for your review

Cheers 😀
……
~uh~: Review posted ! Have a look 🙂

14. ava - Sunday, 12 July, 2009

Great .. sounds like you had fun
………………
~uh~: Yeah, rare fun.

15. orknob - Sunday, 12 July, 2009

happy for you bro…..never change and keep those words flowing…..you got the power
………………
~uh~: Look who’s here ! 😀 😀 Happy to see you !

16. Vee - Sunday, 12 July, 2009

Cool….Do tell what you did to kill that time..
……………….
~uh~: One of the discovery was that Godfather part-I DVD is launched as ‘The Coppola restoration’. Will narrate the rest sometime…..

17. AEIOU ¿ ® - Sunday, 12 July, 2009

[…] ¿ ® Potboilers Sankat City:Premiere to Premier Padmini Michael Jackson- Gone Too SoonMustached Nihilism: Gulaal Movie reviewNaamsutra: History and Culture […]

18. Sankat City: Love in Underwar « AEIOU ¿ ® - Sunday, 12 July, 2009

[…] I watched Sankat City at the premier show on 8th July. The brief account of my experience, accompanied by few poor quality celebrity pictures can be read here. […]

19. whatsinaname - Sunday, 12 July, 2009

An experience worth capturing 🙂
…………….
~uh~: Especially, if you can’t capture your mundane daily life.

20. Mystiquedew - Monday, 13 July, 2009

Looks like u got ur “coveted 2 mins” wid Anurag-wasshisname.

Er..that Makarand has the best-est hairstyle i’ve eva seen!
……………
~uh~: Yeah, AK to me is no less than Greengrass or Tarantino and for a fan those 2 mins means more than a maggi.


Leave a Reply

