jump to navigation

l00king Back Wednesday, 9 September, 2009

Posted by ~uh~™ in Cartoon, My Past Life.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Design assignment, Heavy metal, carefree, long mane, jeans, smoke, alcohol......

Please click on the image for a larger view.

This cartoon was first published on the Annual magazine for the zonal body of NASA (National Association of Students of Architecture) on 1995. I was in my fifth and final year of Architecture (Architecture is a 5 year course).

Back those days, we didn’t have computer at home and used to spend sleepless nights for week to complete submission of our design assignments. Anyone who has been a student of Design, Arts or Architecture may relate to the atmosphere depicted in the drawing.

It took me two nights to finish the cartoon ( days were anyway the time to fool around). I was greatly influenced by detail oriented comics like Tintin , Asterix , cartoons of Mario Miranda , illustrations of Satyajit Ray and tried to use some of the concepts learnt from their works. Most of the objects featured here were actually around me that time- the shoes, the lamp-shade, posters, the wall clock. Do let me know which of the detail you liked the most. Also, can you locate a daru-ki-botlie in the picture ?

When I look at the cartoon today, I see how the fashion, style and time in general are frozen in the image. It captured my world of Guns n Roses, Def Leppard, Iron Maiden, Pink Floyd, Grateful Dead, Old Monk, Gold Flake (small), Rotring , Staedtler, Faber Castell, Koh-i-noor pencils from V Perumal Chetty , Luna, French curves, Francis D K Ching, Flying Machine, Hoffmen, Moustache’, Egg-rolls, Maggi and long mane.

I thought I had the magazine copy with me but could not find it. Like many good things in life, I have lost it somewhere in the run. So I called up one of my batchmate friend who is probably the only person on this world to have another copy of the magazine. And he did. Within a week, I received a scanned image of the cartoon on my mailbox. A friend in need is a friend indeed.

This cartoon is close to my heart, as many happy and sad memories are connected with it.

Today, while one part of me is confined within an air-conditioned glass box dealing with responsibilities, the other part, feeble but still alive, retreats in reminiscence of his careless discards.

With my 100th post, I dedicate this cartoon to friendship, blithe attitude and old times.

Comments»

1. whatsinaname - Wednesday, 9 September, 2009

congrats on 100! wow that was fast. and my bad that i cant see the cartoon properly from mobile! will comment soon!
btw yeah some things are too close to heart. congrats you got it back
…………………………………………
~uh~™:100 posts in 8 months is fast you mean ?
I hope you will return soon.

2. allthecrap - Wednesday, 9 September, 2009

hey nice one bro..n congo!!!

Do let me know which of the detail you “liked the most”

Pretty confident huh?… :P..nice one!!!!

couldn’t locate the bottle tho… 😦
……………………….
~uh~™: Rather optimistic than confident, you may say 🙂
Thanks for the try dude, let’s see who locates a bottle first.

3. bittercharm - Wednesday, 9 September, 2009

Can you help me with the expression for missing something u never had? I think I am feeling that looking at the sketch. Your creative self is an amazing side of you, any form that you chose to express leaves ME out of words, which is astonishing coz I always thought m good with words. Congrats on making the century that I guess was the fastest one ever…
………………………………
~uh~™ : Missing something which one never had can be- desire, want, wish, covetousness, resentment or even agony, depending on the context. Thanks for the many good words and let me assure you- you are still good with words 🙂

4. thethoughtfultrain - Wednesday, 9 September, 2009

Congrats on your century buddy! 🙂

How come you have an unopened gift tucked away in the attic?? And is the Old Monk stored in that jar on the shelf?

I am amazed at your sketch … Awesome work, man!!
……………………………….
~uh~™: Thanks TFT.
Glad you noticed the detail. Unopened gift was a symbolic object- you know there’s something surprising for you but you never open it, to keep the pleasure for later………and the gift remains unopened forever.
That’s not Old Monk- that’s the jug of water and flask 😉
Keep trying.

thethoughtfultrain - Saturday, 12 September, 2009

I was thinking maybe the Old Monk is in it … But knowing you, naaaaaaaah!! 😀 Anyways I scrolled down and saw the answer!! 😀 Its under your pillow … any particular reason why it is under the pillow??

I liked your unopened gift idea though if it were me, I couldn’t bear the suspense!! Good going!!
……………………………………
~uh~™: The bottle is still unopened and thus coveted. Anything coevted goes below the pillow 🙂

5. Kartikey - Thursday, 10 September, 2009

Well drawn
with triangular spider webs
………………………….
~uh~™: 🙂 thanks man

6. Lynn - Thursday, 10 September, 2009

that image maximizes so large! it is beautiful…i love the detail, so much to look at! you really are an amazing artist! i enjoyed this post.
…………………………
~uh~™: Thanks, those were times, i don’t think I could draw this today…
I like your new butterfly icon 🙂

7. Orknob - Thursday, 10 September, 2009

those were the days……life was carefree, fun and easy….real friends laughing, screaming, dancing, singing together…..shunyo e booke pakhi more phire aai phire aai
…………………………………
~uh~™: You should read Shirshendu’s ‘Jao Pakhi’- it was quite ahead of its time novel 20 years back and I relate to it even today.

8. le embrouille blogueur - Thursday, 10 September, 2009

Awesome … Congratulations on the ton …. bravo !!
……………………..
~uh~™: Thanks dude!

9. alok - Thursday, 10 September, 2009

u are a fab illustrator…..all i can say after going through this post hmmm guns and roses, pink fluiod, egg rolls, cavendar i can too relate too !!! saavdhaan yahaa ke artist rahtaa hai …..vishraaaam….saavdhaan…..vishraaam…kadaamtaaaal…ek do ek …ek do ek …..ek do ek …..ek do ek….school mein kertaa tha 😛
………………………..
~uh~™: old times never die 🙂

10. Ravi Lobo - Thursday, 10 September, 2009

Amazing cartoon!

You are – a bit of Narayan and a bit of Laxman. Great talent. All the best.
………………………….
~uh~™ : That’s too large a compliment even to imagine ! Thanks for the good words 🙂

11. doctoratlarge - Thursday, 10 September, 2009

Marvellous! Man you are wasted in your glass cubicle! You ought to have been an artist. And is the daaru-ki-bottle beneath your pillow?
…………………………
~uh~™ : I know, I succumbed to the conventional, but did not let the fire die.
Yes, you found it. You have sharp observation power 🙂 Though i have to give the first credits to ROFL Indian and Whatsinaname, who found it too but could not comment here.

12. spikeace - Thursday, 10 September, 2009

Congrats on the 100th post! The art is amazing!
……………………
~uh~™: Thanks dude for driving along 🙂

13. whatsinaname - Friday, 11 September, 2009

ok i am back.
I am still waiting for the second prize. Please do announce the prizes 😉
There are many details i have liked- the clock, the crow, the broken lamp, the brushes and scissor and paints strewn on the floor!
The more i looking at the pic the more i am seeing new things.
Yes, yours is a talent not to be wasted. Its never too late to begin.
………………………………
~uh~™: I will send a signed copy of the picture to you. You have a keen observation too !
Yeah, I would never let it go waste- drawing doesn’t have anything to do with body fat, like other art forms say- Bharatnatyam 😉

14. Ms Taggart - Saturday, 12 September, 2009

Indeed a fine piece of work. I particularly like the cobwebs, the posters on the wall, and the cupboard. Everything shows that the person was so busy in life and with the course that he did not bother to clean up.. basically a typical bachelor’s room.
I really like this one!
Could not spot the daaru ka botal though! 😦
…………………………………
~uh~™ : Bachelor artist’s room to be precise 🙂
Thanks for observing the details.

15. Rofl Indian - Monday, 14 September, 2009

l00king back, I too realize what a treasure it has been for me, to know you, and have you as a friend.

Cheers!
…………………………..
~uh~™: Ditto. Cheers to that !


Leave a Reply

