Dhak: The Sound of Durga Pujo


This is the first of the series about some of the cultural traditions of Durga Pujo. This year, at the onset of Pujo, I though of sharing some of my old videos.

The sound of Dhak is an inseparable element of Durga Pujo. When the Dhakis (the dummer) hit their sticks on the drum, the unique beat fills the air and creates an atmosphere of joy, mileu and harmony. The gradually rising tempo signifies the mood of the Pujo and the of euphoria of celebration . The video captures some  samples from my neighourhood Pujo in 2007.

Other noticeable features in the video include Uttam Kumar‘s portrait, the famous Apu- Durga train scene from Satyajit Ray‘s Pather Panchali, Jamini Roy‘s painting etc.

In the forthcoming posts I would like to capture Dhunuchi Naach (the  special energetic dance with the  Dhunuchhi), Baul Gaan and some more.

Wish you all a very joyous and memorable festive season !

On the context, I found this outstanding student animation work on you tube. by Rajesh Chakraborty, which captures the esssence of Durapujo beautifully. Loved the concept and artwork.

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMUvf9GKlMM]

Author: ~uh~™

Born on early 70's, brought up in Kolkata. Graduated from Kolkata as an Architect. Then came to Delhi to obtain a Master's Degree in Building Engineering & Management. There after lived and worked in Delhi, Faridabad, Kolkata, Bangalore and Mumbai, in that order. Staying in Mumbai Western suburbs with my family- wife, 2 kids and a Shih Tzu.

10 thoughts on “Dhak: The Sound of Durga Pujo”

  1. I’ll have to stay @B’lore during this Puja …. but, I’ve already started feeling better going thru’ ur post …. and look forward to your coming contributions on this subject!!! Have a nice and enjoyable Dasshera!
    …………………………………….
    ~uh~™: Thanks ! wish you a happy pujo too. Am very eager to have a discussion on the Baul gaan post- so be there.

    1. … and, yes the video on dhak makes me feel nostalgic and the one from U-Tube is excellent!
      …………………………….
      ~uh~™: Osadharon concept na !

  2. what a lovely lovely flavor of pujo …..i loved the artist impression of the same simply mindblowing …..kolkata mone pode gailo
    ………………….
    ~uh~™: 🙂

  3. That was lovely. Have seen this dhol only in movies.
    This reminds me of the panchavadyam of Kerala. Thats equally memerising and is played in temples only.!
    ………………..
    ~uh~™: Technically Dhak is different from dhol. YOu have never visited a Durga Puja pandal in your life ? :O

  4. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that
    I have truly loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be
    subscribing to your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again soon!

Leave a comment